Don't ever think your vote doesn't count, because in ...

1845 - ONE vote brought Texas into the Union

1868 - ONE vote saved President Andrew Johnson from impeachment

1876 - ONE vote gave Rutherford Hayes the presidency of the United States

1939 - ONE vote passed the selective service act

1960 - ONE vote per precinct elected John F. Kennedy President

1978 - in Fullerton, California, a Democratic candidate for the State of California's legislature lost by TEN votes in a primary election where 32,000 votes were cast

... AND IN ALASKA ...

1978 - Jay Hammond won the nomination for Governor over Walter Hickel in the Primary Election by just 98 votes statewide. That's less than 1/4 vote per precinct!

1978 - ONE vote elected Tim Kelly to his Senate seat in District F

1982 - TWO votes gave the nomination for State Senate in District J to David McCracken in the Primary Election

1984 - ONE vote gave Mary Ratcliff the nomination for State Representative of House District 12 in the Primary Election

1986 - 17 votes (less than one vote per precinct) elected Rick Uehling Senator from District H, Seat B, out of 14,389 votes cast

1992 - 5 votes gave Al Vezey the nomination for State Representative of House District 32 in the Primary Election (less than one vote per precinct)

1994 - 1.1 votes per precinct elected Tony Knowles as Governor and Fran Ulmer as Lt.Governor out of 216,668 votes cast in the General Election

1996 - ONE vote gave Ann Spohnholz the nomination for State Representative of House District 21 in the Primary Election

1998 - A TIE was broken by a flip of the coin to elect Wayne Morgan after a runoff election for a school board seat in the Kuspuk School District

1999 - A TIE was broken by a flip of the coin to elect Larry Wilson to a school board seat in the Bering Strait School District

2003 - 4 votes determined the outcome of a school board race in the City & Borough of Juneau!

2006 – A TIE was broken by a flip of the coin to determine the winner of the House District 37 Democratic Primary results in which incumbent Representative Carl Moses lost his seat to challenger Bryce Edgmon.

2008 – 4 votes made the difference for Republican Mike Kelly over Democrat Karl Kassel for House District 7.

2010 – In the 2010 Primary election 4 votes made the difference in the House District 18 race in favor of Dan Saddler; and 12 votes made the difference giving Eric Feige the State House District 12 Republican nomination.