

Department of Environmental Conservation

DIVISION OF SPILL PREVENTION AND RESPONSE Prevention, Preparedness, and Response Program

P.O. Box 1709 Valdez, AK 99686-1709 Main: 907-835-4698 Fax: 907-269-7687 www.dec.alaska.gov

Facility #:5022, 5261, 6111, 6112 & 6113

May 30, 2023

Ailsa VandenBrink Tidewater Transportation Canada Inc. 800 Glasgow Avenue Burnaby, BC Canada V5C 0C9

Subject: Tidewater Transportation Canada Inc. Oil Discharge Prevention and Contingency

Plan, ADEC Plan #: 23-CP-1165; Public Comment Period for Additional

Information

Dear Ms. VandenBrink:

The Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation (department) received a response to its request for additional information (RFAI) regarding the Tidewater Transportation Canada Inc. Oil Discharge Prevention and Contingency Plan (plan) on May 12, 2023. In accordance with 18 AAC 75.455(d), there is a10-day public comment period for the additional information received. This comment period is limited to the additional information submitted in response to the department's RFAI.

The review schedule is designated as follows:

Start of comment period:

May 31, 2023

End of comment period; public comments and RFAIs due by 5:00 pm:

June 9, 2023

The department will make a determination as to whether the application package is complete and notify Tidewater Transportation Canada Inc. within seven days of the end of comment period. However, if the department determines that additional information is still needed, the department will send another RFAI.

If you have any questions, please contact me at 907-835-3037 or sonja.mishmash@alaska.gov.

2

Sincerely,

DocuSigned by:

Sonja Mishmash

Sonja Mishmash

Environmental Program Specialist

Enclosures: RFAI Distribution List

cc with enclosure:

Rachael Krajewski, ADEC

Melissa Woodgate, ADEC

Contingency Plan Reviewer, ADNR

Southcentral Plan Reviewer, ADF&G

Southeast Plan Reviewer, ADF&G

Northern Plan Reviewer, ADF&G

Robert Whittier, EPA

USCG Sector Juneau

Dave Owings, SEAPRO

Steven Gabelein, Alaska Chadux Network

Brian Templin, City of Craig

Alekka Fullerton, City of Haines

Emily Deach, City of Skagway

Jennifer Bidiman, City of Hoonah

Tina Ryman, City and Borough of Yakutat

Lattieca Stewart, City of Pelican

Sara Peterson, City of Sitka

Wayne Benner, City of Thorne Bay

Rick Hines, Ketchikan Fire Department