ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR & WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT

O INDIVIDUAL WORK PERMIT APPROVED 00 GENERAL DUTIES WORK PERMIT
O APPROVED AS AMENDED APPROVED FOR:

O 16 & 17 YEAR OLDS; OR

O 14-17 YEAR OLDS

By:
0O DENIED Date:
By: GENERAL DETEES WORK PERMIT:
Date: 1. Employer completes and signs Section A4.

i 2. Employer submits work permit to Wage and Hour office
INDIVIDUAL WORK PERMIT: 3. The approved duties are returned to the employer. Afier
1. Employer completes and signs Section A employer obtains the signature of the minor’s parent or
2. Parent or guardian completes and signs Section B. guardian in Section B, the minor may begin work.

3. Employer submits work permit and LEGIBLE copy 4. Employer must return a copy of the work permit signed
of minor’s proof of age to the Wage and Hour office. by the parent or legal guardian and LEGIBLE copy of
4. When the approved work permit is rcturned, proof of age to the Wage and Hour office within seven
the minor may begin work. (N calendar davs of minor beginning work.
Section (A) to be completed by EMPLOYLER
Name of Employer: Employef Fax Number:
DBA/ Employer Phone Number:
Employer's Local Mailing Address: City - Zip
Location of Employment (Physical Address): . City Zip
Duties to be performed by minor: Tools, Equipment or Machinery to be Used by Minor;
Do these duties involve being on a licensed restaurant designated premise where alcoholic Hourly Rate: Pay Periods:
beverages are served? O ves 00 No

Y SEE REVERSE SIDE - FEDERAL LIMITATIONS MAY BE MORE STRICT.
HOURS OF WORK FOR YOUTHS AGES 14 AND 15 YEARS WILL BE RESTRICTED AS INDICATED BELOW.
% When school isin session. hours will be limited to a combined total of nine hours of school attendance plus employment in any one day: work will be performed only
between the hours of 5 am. and 9 p.m.: total hours worked in one week will be limited to 23 hours.
< During school vacations, work hours will be limited to a maximum of 8 hours per day and a maximum of 40 hours per week and work will be performed only between
the hours of 5 a.m. and 9 p.m.
Alaska law (AS 23.10.350 (c)) states that a minor under |8 years of age:
(i)  may not be employed or allowed to work more than six days a week
(ii) _who works for five (5) consecutive hours without a break is to have a break of at least 30 consecutive minutes before continuing work

I affirm and agree that such working conditions will be maintained and that all changes shall have the prior approval of the
Commissioner of Labor & Workforce Development.

Printed Name of Employer or Agent Acting for Employer Signature Date

Section {(B) to be completed by PARENT or GUARDIAN prigr to employment of minor

PROOF OF CHILD'S AGE: YOU MUST PROVIDE ONE OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS OR A COPY THEREOF

O Driver's License or Permit, O State 1. D., O Birth Certificate, O Passport, O Authenticated School Records, 0 Military 1. D.. O Baptismal Certificate
O An official signed statement of B.1.A. census records

O Other (Specify)

Name of Minor (Print): Address: Date of Birth:

I affirm that 1 am the pacent/stepparent [ or the lepal guardian 0 or the above-named minor and that such minor has my consenl o be employed in any
occupation authorized by the Alaska child labor laws. Alaska Statutes 23.10.325-370.

Signature (Legal guardian must attach documentation) Telephone Number Date

NOTICE: Allinformation requested is required to process this work permit. Records of the Department are public records and may be subject
to inspection and copying under AS 09.25.110-220 or be provided to other State agencies (see AS 44.99.310).



Labor Standards and Safety Division
Alaska Department of Labor and
Workforce Development

1111 West Eighth Street, Suite 302
Juneau, Alaska 99802-1149
Phone: 465-4842
FAX: 465-3584

Labor Standards and Safety Division
Alaska Department of Labor and
Workforce Development
1251 Muldoon Road, Suite 113
Anchorage, Alaska 99504
Phone: 269-4909
FAX: 269-4915

Labor Standards and Safety Division
Alaska Department of Labor and
Workforce Development

675 7" Avenue, Station J-1
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Phone: 451-2886
FAX: 451-2885

EMPLOYERS PLEASE NOTE:

ekl o

OCCUPATIONS PROHIBITED TO ALL MINORS UNDER 18:

Occupations in manufacturing, handling, or use of explosives.

Occupations of motor vehicle driver or helper (limited exceptions.)

Mining operations including coal.

Logging or occupations in the operations of any sawmill, lath mill, shingle mill or
cooperage.

Operations of power-driven woodworking machines.

Occupations with exposure to radioactive substances and 1o ionizing radiation.
Qccupations involving exposure to bloodborne pathogens.

Operation of elevators or other power-driven hoisting apparatus.

Operation of power-driven metal forming, punching, and shearing machines.

0. Qccupations involving slaughtering, meatpacking or processing, or rendering.
1

Occupations involved in the operation and cleaning of power-driven bakery
machines.

12, Occupations involved in the operation of power-driven paper products

machines.

13. Occupations involved in the manufacture of brick, tile, and kindred products.
14, Occupations invelved in the operation and cleaning of circular saws, band saws

and guillotine shears.

15, Occupations involved in wrecking, demolition, and shipbreaking operations.
16.  Occupations involved in roofing operations.

17. Occupations invelved with excavation operations.

18.  Electrical work with voltages exceeding 220, or outside erection or repair, and

meter-testing, including telegraph and telephone lines.

19, Occupationsinvolved in canvassing, peddling, door-to-door selicitation, or sales.

IF UNDER 16 THESE ADDITIONAL OCCUPATIONS ARE
ALSO PROHIBITED:

i Occupations in manufacturing, mining, or processing, including work reoms or
places where goods are manufactured, mined, or otherwise processed.

2. Occupations involved in operation of hoisting or power-driven machinery other

than office machines.

Operation of motor vehicle or service as helper on motor vehicle.

Public messenger service.

5. Occupations in or about canneries, seafood plants, including cutting, slicing, or
butchering, or the operation of any floating plant and including loading or
unloading.

8.  Work performedin or about boilers, engine rooms, or retorts.

7. Work involved with maintenance or repair of the establishment's machines or
equipment.

8. Occupations that involve working from window sills, ladders, scaffolds, or their
substitutes.

9. Occupations which involve operating, setting up, adjusting, cleaning, oiling, or
repair of power-driven food slicers, grinders, choppers, cutters, and bakery-type
mixers.

10.  Work in freezers, meat coolers, or preparation of meat for sale.

11. Loading or unloading to and from trucks, railroad cars, or meat conveyors.

12. Occupations in warehouses except office and clerical work,

13.  Occupations involving use of sharpened tools.

14, Occupations in ransportation of persons or property, warehousing and storage,
construction (including demolition and repair) except office or sales work in
connection with these occupaticns.

ey

The federal prohibition on the hours 14 and 15 year old minors may be allowed to work is stricter than Alaskan law. Due to this conflict, an employer of 14 or 15 year old minors may find
that they are in compliance with State law, but in violation of federal law. For example:

Federal Law

Children 14 and 15 years old may only work:

O GNP R =

outside school hours.

No more than 40 hours in any one week when school is not in session.

Not more than 18 hours in any week when school is in session.

Not more than 8 hours in any one day when school is not in session.

Not more than 3 hours in any one day when school is in session.

Between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. in any one day except during the summer (June 1
through Labor Day), when the evening hours will be 9 p.m.

State Law

Children 14 and 15 years old may work:

1. Atotal of 9 hours of school and work combined in one day.

2. Only between the hours of 5 a.m. to 9 p.m.

3. Nomore than 23 hours per week outside of school hours (domestic work and
babysitting excepted).

4. Nomore than 6 days per week.

There are certain exceptions to the federal law; for example, children in work-study programs through their schools are exempt from some or all of the hour restrictions. For further information
on the federal law, contact the United States Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Telephone: 1-866-487-9243. Or in Anchorage: (907) 271-2867
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TITLE 4 ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES -- ALASKA STATUTES

AS 04.16.049. Access of persons under the age of 21 1o licensed premises:
(a) A person under the age of 21 years may not knowingly enter or remain in premises licensed under this title unless:
accompanied by a parent, guardian or spouse who has attained the age of 21 years;
(2)  the person s at least 16 years of age, the premises are designaled by the board as a restaurant for the purposes of this section, and the person enters and remains only for

dining; or

(3) the person is under the age of 16 years, is accompanied by a person over the age of 21 years, the parent or guardian of the underaged person consents, the premises are
designated by the board as a restaurant for the purposes of this section, and the person enters and remains only for dining.

(c) Notwithstanding any other provision in this section, a person between 16 or 17 years of age may enter and remain within the licensed premises of a hotel, restaurant, or eating

place in the course of employment if

(1) the employment does not involve the serving, mixing, delivering, or dispensing of alcoholic beverages;

(2)  the person has the written consent of a parent or guardian; and

(3)  an exemption from the prohibition of AS 23.10.355is granted by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development. The board, with the approval of the governing body
having jurisdiction and at the licensee's request, shall designate which premises are hotels, restaurants, or eating places for the purposes of this subsection.
(d) Notwithstanding any other provision in this section, a person 18, 19, or 20 years of age may be employed within the licensed premises of a hotel, restaurant, or eating place, may
enter and remain within those premises for the purpose of employment, but may not in the course of employment, sell, serve, deliver, or dispense alcoholic beverages.

TOBACCO & PULL-TABS

AS 11.76.106 restricts access to areas where tobacco and tobacco products are sold. Minors under 19 years may not sell tobacco or tobacco products in the course of their employment.
15 AAC 160.480(b) prohibits the sale of pull-tabs by anycne under the age of 21,

THIS FORM IS AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET AT: www.labor.state.ak.us/lss/forms/workpmit.pdf




